Lightning Speeches at #SSDP2016

Lightning Speeches at #SSDP2016

This year, at SSDP2016, Students for Sensible Drug Policy is looking for a few passionate SSDP students or recently graduated alumni to bring their “Vision for a Post-Prohibition World” during our first-ever Lightning Talks session.

The event will take place at the end of Sunday, April 17  at 6pm  to close out SSDP2016, an event that will bring together hundreds of students, alumni and experts for three days of learning, advocacy, and celebration.

Link to the application: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1_QH0RqEwjaHBFPwF9IM4axkV8kKqhMv_Itc1tw44jUo/formResponse

 

Think you’re sensible enough? Here’s how you sign up.

Phase I: Submit Application Form

Deadline: Wednesday, March 16

Fill out the application in its entirety here by Wednesday, March 16 at 11:59pm PST. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

 

Phase II: Application Review + Selection

Deadline: Tuesday, March 22

SSDP Staff will meet and review all applications.  All applicants will receive the committee’s decision via email no later than midnight on March 22.

Phase III: Student Speaker Preparations

Complete BOTH 1 and 2 following webinars/training sessions – save these dates NOW! During this time period, the selected speakers will work with Maureen McNamara from Women Grow and SSDP Staff to prepare and finalize their talks to make them as powerful as possible. Failure to complete these webinars may result in removal from the speakers program.

Wednesday, March 23 at 4pm PST / 7pm EST: Workshop 1

  • Nothing to prepare
  • Come & Learn
  • Bring your curiosity!

Wednesday, March 30 at 4pm PST / 7pm EST: Workshop 2

  • Have your topic title ready
  • Have your outline in process
  • Know your main talking point
  • Bring your curiosity!

Plan to be at ONE of these group coaching workshops

Wednesday, April 6 at 3pm PST / 6pm EST

Thursday, April 7 at 5pm PST / 8pm EST

  • Have your slide deck prepared
  • Be ready to share your presentation
  • Be open to receive coaching
  • Bring your courage and awesomeness!

If you are interested in being considered for a student/alumni speaker position, please complete the following application by WEDNESDAY, March 16. Contact Frances at frances@ssdp.org if you have any questions regarding the application process.

If you are ultimately not accepted to be a part of the closing session, you will still have an opportunity to share your vision for a post-prohibition world the following day during SSDP’s demonstration at UNGASS! We will be providing a space for “Soapbox style” speeches, where all students are invited to join youth from around the world for 2-3 minute speeches on why we as young people are demanding a different approach to global drug policy and an end to prohibition.  Contact Jake at jake@ssdp.org for more information.