SSDP Elects New Students to Board of Directors

SSDP Elects New Students to Board of Directors

At the end of October, nearly 100 SSDPers gathered in Denver, Colorado for the International Reform Conference co-hosted by the Drug Policy Alliance, Students for Sensible Drug Policy, and many other organizations. Between learning about current reform efforts and meeting some of the top drug policy activists in the world, students came together for the annual SSDP Congress where they elected five new student members to the board of directors.

Our new student Board members — Amanda Muller, Evan Eisenberg, Scott Cecil, Alec Foster, and Frances Fu — all bring different skills and experiences to the board. Among these five, we have a former White House intern, football player, leader in Greek life, community college student, activists who passed Good Samaritan policies, peer drug educators, and more. They’re also from all corners of the continental US with members hailing from Washington state, New York, Florida, and Arizona.

I’m very excited to be working with all of the new members for my remaining year on the board, and know that they will do great things for the organization alongside our new Executive Director. And thank you very much to the board members they’re replacing — Thom Silverstein, Brandon Levey, Julie Roberts, and Rodrigo “Froggy” Vazquez — who contributed a lot during their terms and are now moving on to other endeavors. While they’re no longer on the board, they’ll always be SSDPers.

For more information on the new board members, check out their biographies, and stay tuned for updates on what the board is up to!

SSDP Board of Directors 2013 - 2014

SSDP Board of Directors at the International Drug Policy Reform Conference in Denver Colorado / October 2013