Tax and Regulate Marijuana in Oklahoma

Oklahoma: Tax and Regulate Marijuana in Oklahoma

On February 3, 2014 Oklahoma State Senator Connie Johnson introduced Senate Bill 2116. Johnson’s bill would legalize possession of up to one ounce for adults 21 years of age and older.

“As taxpayers, we’re spending over $30 million each year policing, jailing and incarcerating our citizens on marijuana-related offenses. Yet marijuana is almost universally available. It’s time for a smarter approach,” – Senator Johnson

 

In summary this bill would:

  • Legalize the possession, consumption, purchase, of marijuana accessories or marijuana up to one ounce for persons 21 and older
  • Legalize possessing, growing, processing or transporting “no more than five” marijuana plants and the possession of the marijuana produced by the plants on the premises where they were grown
  • Legalize the transfer of one ounce or less and up to six immature plants to a person 21 years of age or older without remuneration (compensation)
  • Provide for a drug awareness program for underage persons who unlawfully possess marijuana
  • Enact the following guidelines for growing marijuana:
    1. Plants cannot be in public view without the use of binoculars, aircraft or other optical aids.
    2. Reasonable precautions must be taken to prevent unauthorized access (e.g. locked cabinet)
    3. Cultivation can only occur with consent of the property owner
  • Legalize scientific and medical research and allows persons 21 and older to participate in such studies
  • Enact an excise tax of $50 per ounce on the transfer from a cultivator to a retail facility, prior month’s taxes are due on the 15th of each month.
  • Establish a fund where all taxes collected under this act will be deposited, with the following guidelines:
    1. The fund will cover the costs of implementation of this act
    2. All funds in excess of the costs of implementation will be distributed as follows every 3 months:30% to department of education,10% to the department of health for drug abuse programs,10% to the department of health for a public education campaign about drugs,50% to the general revenue fund
  • It would still be unlawful for persons under 21 years of age to possess marijuana, under this act they face confiscation of said marijuana and a 4 hour drug abuse prevention program and/or a fine of up to $300.

Full text of the bill can be found here

 

Help move this bill forward by using our action center below to contact your representatives:

This action is no longer available.